Skip to Content

The British Legal History Conference 2022

With thanks to the conference sponsors: Carson McDowell, solicitors, Belfast; Journal of Legal History; Law Societies of Ireland and Northern Ireland; Bar of Ireland; Bar of Northern Ireland; Benchers of the Inn of Court of Northern Ireland.

Online booking has now closed - please see the Registration page for further information. The cancellation policy is as stated below.

The updated conference programme is now available from the toolbar above.

Plenary speakers are:

  • Baroness Hale of Richmond, former justice of the UK Supreme Court
  • Professor Lauren Benton, Barton M. Biggs Professor of History and Professor of Law, Yale University, immediate past president of the American Society for Legal History
  • Professor Ian McBride, Foster Professor of Irish History in the University of Oxford
  • Dr Timothy Murtagh, research fellow in PRONI and a member of the Beyond 2022 team
  • Professor Sir John Baker, Downing Professor Emeritus of the Laws of England


The conference is being co-hosted by the Irish Legal History Society and Queen’s Law School, on 6-9 July 2022


The Bar and Law Society of Northern Ireland have accredited the conference for CPD purposes: please email Norma Dawson for further details of CPD allowances:


The conference registration fee is £160, which includes all receptions and the planned visit to Parliament Buildings, Stormont.  The conference dinner is not included: delegates can, if they wish, book for the dinner at an additional cost of £50 per person.       The student rate for registration is £120.

If the conference is cancelled by the organisers, all registration fees will be refunded in full.

Where an individual conference registration is cancelled on or before 2 May by the person who made the booking, the registration fee will be refunded but for individual cancellations occurring after 2 May, registration fees will not be refunded.

If you have any queries, please use the conference email address:

We look forward to welcoming you to Queen’s, Belfast!

Professor Norma Dawson and Dr David Capper


On behalf of the conference organising committee:

Professor Patrick Geoghegan, TCD; John Gordon, solicitor and President of ILHS; Kevin Neary, solicitor; Dr Niamh Howlin, UCD; Dr Conor McCormick, QUB; Dr Coleman Dennehy, UCD; Dr David Capper (QUB); Professor Norma Dawson (QUB).